AFSCME Local 60 - Municipal & School District Employees of Dane County

AFSCME in Wisconsin

Wisconsin is the birthplace of the American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees (AFSCME), which was founded in 1932. Our union has grown to represent more than 1.6 million members across the U.S. and Puerto Rico.

AFSCME members are employed by the state, counties and municipalities as well as by nonprofit agencies. We represent thousands of retirees. Our membership includes child welfare workers, street and highway workers, nursing home caregivers, school support staff, nurses and other health care providers, corrections officers, public inspectors, planners, foresters, conservation wardens, auditors, administrative support staff, social workers, technicians, heavy equipment operators, garbage collectors, parks employees, probation and parole agents, mechanics, water and sewerage district employees, and countless more. We represent a diverse group of people who work in every area of public service across Wisconsin.

AFSCME’s active and retired members in Wisconsin are organized into more than 600 local unions and chapters. These local unions, in turn, are organized into three District Councils, with each Council providing the framework and resources for bargaining, contract administration, political action and other collective activity.

Council 24, or the Wisconsin State Employees Union (WSEU), is comprised of the largest number of state employees who are represented. There are six bargaining units in Council 24: Blue Collar, Administrative Support, Professional Social Services, Security and Public Safety, the Technical unit and the U.W. Hospitals and Clinics. Marty Beil is the Executive Director of AFSCME Council 24 (WSEU).

Council 48 represents members are employed by Milwaukee County and the City of Milwaukee, plus other cities, school districts, local government units within Milwaukee County. Council 48 also represents private health care facilities, non-profit institutions and child care providers in Milwaukee County. Rich Abelson is the Executive Director of AFSCME Council 48.

Council 40 has jurisdiction in the other 71 counties, and represents members who work for municipalities, counties, school districts, health care facilities and non-profit institutions, plus members who are child care providers. Rick Badger is the Executive Director of AFSCME Council 40.

The three Councils combine activity in the legislative and public relations arena through a separate body known as Council 11, which is exclusively a service Council dedicated to representing the three AFSCME Councils. Doug Burnett serves as Executive Director for Council 11.

Here in Wisconsin, AFSCME is also represented by staff employes by AFSCME International. The Wisconsin Area office and its staff provide assistance and resources for retirees as well as all affiliates in the state and coordinate joint activities of the three Wisconsin Councils. Debbie Garcia is the Area Field Services Director for AFSCME International in Wisconsin. Peg Kermeen is the AFSCME Field Education Coordinator based in Wisconsin.

Follow Us!

Sign Up
Remember me